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Summary of Concealed Weapon Permit (CWP) Law and Process Changes 

Effective February 11, 2014 

 

 Persons with a CWP may carry a concealed weapon into an establishment licensed to sell alcohol for consumption 

on premise unless: 

o The owner, holder of a lease interest, or operator of a business may prohibit the carrying of concealable 

weapons into the business by posting a “NO CONCEALABLE WEAPONS ALLOWED” sign in accordance 

with Section 23-31-235 of the S.C. Code of Laws (to include sign size and proper posting location). 

o The owner, holder of a lease interest, or operator verbally asks anyone known to be carrying a concealed 

weapon not to carry the weapon; or asks a person carrying a concealed weapon to leave upon learning they 

are in possession of the weapon. 

o The owner, holder of a lease interest, or operator of the property should notify the law enforcement agency 

of jurisdiction if there is a patron who is carrying a concealed weapon on property properly posted or refuses 

to comply with this request. 

 

 CWP holders who lawfully carry a concealed weapon into an establishment that sells alcohol for on premise 

consumption may not consume alcohol (failure to comply may result in criminal charges and a five year 

revocation of a CWP). 

 

 Concealed Weapon Permits issued after February 11, 2014 will be valid for five years instead of four years. 

 

 SLED will notify CWP holders at least 30 days prior to permit expiration. 

 

 CWP holders also may secure the weapon under a seat in a vehicle, or in any open or closed storage compartment 

within the vehicle’s passenger compartment (Section 16-23-90(9)(a) of the S.C. Code of Laws). There is no 

change to the laws for those who do not have a CWP.  

 

 SLED certified CWP instructors will now have the discretion to establish training time limits for CWP applicants. 

There is no longer an 8-hour minimum training requirement. Some applicants will require more training while 

others may require less, based on experience and/or training exemptions.  

 

 CWP instructors must still conduct training pursuant to a SLED-approved lesson plan and administer a written 

test provided by SLED to all applicants. Applicants who are not exempt from the firearms proficiency portion of 



training must still satisfy the proof of range training requirement in accordance with Section R73-320(C) of the 

S.C. Code of Regulations.   

 

 Applicants and instructors must also complete the South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit 

Instructor/Student Checklist, which must be submitted to SLED with the application. CWP instructors will be 

responsible for keeping copies of these checklists in addition to the other records required for a minimum of four 

years in accordance with Section R73-320(D)(1) of the S.C. Code of Regulations. It is suggested you keep 

records for a minimum of five (5) years pursuant to the change in law making permits valid for five years.  

 

 There is no longer a requirement for instructors to issue a training certificate or for the applicant to submit a 

training certificate to SLED. This has been replaced by the South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit 

Instructor/Student Checklist. CWP instructors may still provide class participants a training certificate; however, 

the certificate may not make any reference to or association with SLED (to include the SLED seal).  

 

 CWP instructors must issue and maintain a student number for each class participant, which is to be listed on the 

application and Instructor/Student Checklist. The format of the student number will be as follows: 

 

Instructor Number – Year of Training – Student Number (Example: 19960001-2014-0002) 

 

Note: Implementation of student numbers and use of the Instructor/Student Checklist must occur on or 

before May 1, 2014. Training certificates issued prior to February 11, 2014 will remain valid and continue 

to be accepted for three years from the date of issuance. 

 

 The firearm proficiency portion of training no longer applies to the following individuals: 

o Out-of-state retired law enforcement officers or South Carolina retired law enforcement officers whose 

certification has expired (must submit proof of graduation from a federal or state academy that included 

firearms training as a graduation requirement). 

o Retired/former military personnel who completed basic military training (must provide DD214). 

 

Note: The above listed individuals must still complete training pertaining to information on the statutory 

and case law of this State relating to handguns and to the use of deadly force in accordance with Section 23-

31-210(a)(i) of the S.C. Code of Laws and successfully pass a written test provided by SLED. 

 

Any questions should be directed to the SLED Office of Regulatory Services at (803) 896-7015. 


