
SOUTH CAROLINA LAW ENFORCEMENT DIVISION (SLED) CWP FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
 

Listed below are some of the most commonly asked questions pertaining to South Carolina Concealed 
Weapons Permits (CWPs). If you have a CWP question, please review this list. If your question is not 
answered, please contact SLED Regulatory Services. Please note that SLED Regulatory Services does 
not provide legal advice, legal interpretations, or legal opinions of any kind. If your question involves 
anything not specifically addressed in state law, you are encouraged to seek the advice of an attorney. 

 
 

Q: How do I apply for a South Carolina CWP? 
 

A: Most applicants must first attend required training through a certified South Carolina CWP 
instructor. A listing of instructors is available on the SLED website (www.sled.sc.gov) under the 
Concealed Weapons Permit Program tab. Your selected instructor will help you navigate 
through the remainder of the CWP application process. 

 

Q: How do I renew my CWP application online? 
 

A: From the SLED website, please click the “SLED CWPR” box in the top right corner of the home 
page. Please carefully read the instructions provided and follow the prompts to renew your 
permit. You will not be able to apply On-Line if you are applying for renewal prior to 89 days of 
your expiration date or if your permit expired in excess of 60 days. You must submit a paper 
renewal application if any information has changed since you last applied; to include name 
change, address change, or telephone number changes. 

 

Q: I completed an online renewal even though my address had changed. What do I need to do? 
 

A: There is no link to change your address online, and your permit is not to be renewed online if 
you have had any change in the information on your permit. You may request a replacement 
CWP by completing a Replacement Card form available on the SLED website (www.sled.sc.gov) 
under the Concealed Weapons Permit Program tab, be certain to include the fee required (listed 
on the form) to complete your request. 

 
Q: If I lost my CWP or changed any information on it (name, address, etc.), how do I get a new 

one? 

A: You may request a replacement CWP by completing a Replacement Card form available on the 
SLED website (www.sled.sc.gov) under the Concealed Weapons Permit Program tab. Please 
carefully follow the instructions listed on the form to ensure your request is properly processed. 

 
Q: I sent in for a replacement for a lost/stolen CWP. How long does it take to get one? 

 

A: Processing times for CWP replacements range anywhere from one to two weeks. 
 

Q: My CWP expired. Do I have to go through training again? 
 

A: While you are encouraged to maintain familiarity and proficiency with the firearm you intend to 

carry with your CWP, retraining is not mandated by state law upon expiration. You will; however 

http://www.sled.sc.gov/
http://www.sled.sc.gov/
http://www.sled.sc.gov/


need to mail in an application as renewing online is not possible if the permit has been expired 

longer than 60 days. 

Q: I have a South Carolina CWP and have moved out of state. What do I need to do? 
 

A: In accordance with state law, you must surrender your permit to SLED. You may send it to SLED 

CWP, PO Box 21398, Columbia, SC 29221. Please include a note indicating you have moved out 

of the state. 
 

Q: I have a CWP in another state and will be moving to South Carolina. Can I transfer my permit? 
 

A: No. South Carolina law does not permit the transfer of permits from other states. You will need 

to attend CWP training through a certified South Carolina CWP instructor. A listing of instructors 

is available on the SLED website (www.sled.sc.gov) under the Concealed Weapons Permit 

Program tab. Your selected instructor will help you navigate through the remainder of the CWP 

application process. 
 

Q: How long does it take to get a CWP once I apply? 
 

A: Although processing times vary greatly depending on current demand and type of application, 

by state law SLED has 90 days to process and issue permits. If you applied more than 90 days 

ago and still have not received your permit or notification advising why you have not received it, 

please contact SLED Regulatory Services at 803-896-7015 to check the status. 
 

Q: Where can I find a CWP application? 
 

A: The CWP application is located on the SLED website (www.sled.sc.gov) under the Concealed 

Weapons Permit Program tab. The same application is used for both new and renewal permit 

requests. 

Q: I am filling out my CWP renewal application to mail in but I do not remember my training 

information (instructor name, certification number, etc.). What do I do? 

A: This information is not needed on a CWP renewal application and can be left blank. 
 

Q: I am a disabled veteran. Do I need to pay the CWP application fee? 
 

A: No. Disabled veterans are exempt by state law from paying the CWP fee. Please include a letter 

from the VA certifying your disability along with your application and other required documents. 

There is no minimum percentage of disability required to be fee exempt. 
 

Q: I am a retired/former military member. What training do I need to complete? 
 

A: Retired/former military members must complete the legal aspects portion of CWP training by a 

certified South Carolina CWP instructor. A listing of instructors is available on the SLED website 

(www.sled.sc.gov) under the Concealed Weapons Permit Program tab. Your selected instructor 

will help you navigate through the remainder of the CWP application process. 
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Q: I am an active duty military member. What training do I need to complete? 
 

A: In accordance with state law, active duty military and members of the reserve or National Guard 

are exempt from CWP training. You will need to submit a CWP application, two fingerprint cards, 

proof of military service, permanent change of station orders, a copy of your driver’s          

license, and the required $50 application fee to SLED, PO Box 21398, Columbia, SC 29221. Please 

check the appropriate box at the top of the application to ensure proper processing. Note: 

Spouses and/or dependents of active duty military personnel do not qualify for a South 

Carolina CWP unless they possess a South Carolina driver’s license. 
 

Q: I am a retired/former law enforcement officer. What training do I need to complete? 
 

A: If you are retired from a law enforcement agency and have not maintained any type of 

certification/commission; or used to be a law enforcement officer who completed a state or 

federal training academy, you will only need to complete the legal aspects portion of CWP 

training by a certified South Carolina CWP instructor. A listing of instructors is available on the 

SLED website (www.sled.sc.gov) under the Concealed Weapons Permit Program tab. Your 

selected instructor will help you navigate through the remainder of the CWP application 

process. If you still maintain a retired (HR-218) certification, you are exempt from training. 
 

Q: I am a retired law enforcement officer. Do I have to pay the CWP application fee? 
 

A: No. By state law, retired law enforcement officers are exempt from paying the CWP application 

fee. Please include a letter from the retirement/pension authority from which you receive 

benefits along with the application and other required documents. 

Q: I have a concealed weapon permit from another state and will be visiting South Carolina? How 

do I know if South Carolina has a reciprocity agreement with my home state? 

A: You may access a listing of states South Carolina has reciprocity with via the SLED website 

(www.sled.sc.gov) under the Concealed Weapons Permit Program tab. 
 

Q: My state does not have reciprocity with South Carolina. Where can I carry a handgun? 
 

A: Please visit the South Carolina Legislature’s website, particularly S.C. Code Ann. § 16-23-20, at  

http://scstatehouse.gov/code/t16c023.php for more information on where you may carry a 

firearm in South Carolina. 
 

Q: I have a CWP. Where can I carry my gun in my vehicle? 
 

A: Pursuant to S.C. Code Ann. § 16-23-20(9)(A)-(B), the weapon must be “(a) secured in a closed 

glove compartment, closed console, closed trunk, or in a closed container secured by an integral 

fastener and transported in the luggage compartment of the vehicle; however, this item is not 

violated if the glove compartment, console, or trunk is opened in the presence of a law 

enforcement officer for the sole purpose of retrieving a driver's license, registration, or proof of 
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insurance. If the person has been issued a concealed weapon permit pursuant to Article 4,  

Chapter 31, Title 23, then the person also may secure his weapon under a seat in a vehicle, or in 

any open or closed storage compartment within the vehicle's passenger compartment; or (b) 

concealed on or about his person, and he has a valid concealed weapons permit pursuant to the 

provisions of Article 4, Chapter 31, Title 23.”  
 

Q: Do I need a CWP to carry a taser or pepper spray? 
 

 
 

 
 

A: If you no longer are a resident of SC but retain property here you will need to change to a non- 
resident permit. Please complete a Duplicate/Replacement form and a Real Property form (to 
be completed by the tax assessor). Once you have completed both forms submit them with a 
copy of your new driver's license and the $5.00 fee in the form of a certified check or money 
order. Both forms are available on the SLED website, www.sled.sc.gov under the Concealed 
Weapons Permit Program tab. 

 

 
 

A: Your training is good for three (3) years from the date of training. SLED must receive the 
application and required documents prior to the expiration of the training certificate. If the 
application is not received within the time frame you will need to complete the training again. 

 
Q: I live out of state but own property in South Carolina. Can I get a CWP? 

 
A: To qualify for a Non-Resident South Carolina Concealed Weapon Permit you must own real 

property in the state, in your name. You must complete the SC Concealed Weapon Permit class 
provided by a SLED certified instructor. They will assist you in completing the application and 
advise you on the forms required for submission. In addition to the application requirements 
please submit a Real Property Tax form completed by the tax assessor in the county the 
property is located.  A listing of certified CWP instructors and the Real Property Tax Form are 
available on the SLED website, www.sled.sc.gov under the Concealed Weapons Permit Program 
tab. 

 

 

 

Q: I received CWP training a few years ago, but never sent in my application. Is it too late? 

Q: I moved my residence from South Carolina to another state, but still own property in South 

Carolina. Do I qualify for a non-resident CWP? 

If your question is not addressed above, you may email your question to CWPQuestions@sled.sc.gov 
or contact SLED Regulatory Services at 803-896-7015 during normal business hours. 
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